Homemade Citrus Scrub

My friends birthday was coming up and I was lacking inspiration in the gift buying department. Despite the obvious choice – Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish, which she simply loves – I hadn’t a clue what to buy a cosmetic obsessive who is against testing on animals?

So I donned my thinking cap and that’s when I came up with the ingenious idea of making my very own homemade body scrub. I already had most of the ingredients in the cupboard so all I had to do was find a suitable pot, some adorable ribbon and roll up my sleeves.

My favourite thing about making your own body scrub is that you can choose the oil (depending on your skin type) and you can choose your scent (depending on your taste).

My top scents are;

Citrus – Refreshing and uplifting
Lavender – Relaxing and calming
Vanilla – Sweet and indulgent
Coconut – Reminiscent of holidays

Best oils;

Olive oil – great for moisturising (but strong smell)
Grape seed oil – Perfect for oily skin or acne prone skin
Avocado oil – great for dry skin
Alm
ond oil – great for moisturizing for all skin types

I decided to make a citrus scrub as it’s fresh, zingy and perfect for when you want to emerge from the bathroom feeling revived and refreshed.

What I used:

2 cups sugar or 2 cups of salt (sugar feels slightly gentler on your skin)
1 cup almond oil (or until sugar is saturated)
Juice of 1 lemon
2-3 drops of grapefruit essential oil

Directions:

1. Measure out your sugar or salt straight into your scrub pot/jar


2. Add your the oil (you can choose which oil you use depending on skin type). The oil will turn the salt or sugar into a moisturizing slurry that can be rubbed into wet or dry skin.


3. Squeeze in the juice of 1 whole lemon and add a few drops of essential oil.

Add some gorgeous ribbon and Viola!

Not only is this gift is resourceful; most things can be found in your store cupboard, inexpensive; assuming you have everything in the cupboard the pot and oil will set you back about £6, but it is also thoughtful.

There’s no doubt that if you give someone homemade body scrub – the kind that smells so good you might wanna eat it – they will love you forever!

Please leave a reply.

